Reconciliation

Sometimes, while reading my Bible, I find a passage reworking itself in my head. No sacrilege, just applying it to my current situation.

I know what it is to respect the Lord, and when I try to see through His eyes, I know He wants me to try to persuade others to follow His example, advocating for children and for reconciliation.

God knows my intent is pure and I hope you can see this, too. When I write about the our lives, I don’t write to brag or in hope that you will hold us up as an example of perfection. I write to give you hope and the knowledge that you are not alone. To be honest, some people think we are out of our minds. If we’re insane, we’re crazy with intention. Christ loved everyone, and His love compels me to love others, specifically vulnerable children with no protector.

He died for everyone and rose again, to show that He is making a second chance available to every individual. If He wants to give a second chance to all, how can I do otherwise? Because of what He did for me, how can I do anything but live for him and do my best to advocate for those who need help?

I used to see through my own eyes, but now I try to look through the eyes of Jesus. Anyone who sees through His eyes sees in a new way. God reconciled us to Himself through Christ and gave us the example of the ministry of reconciliation. God reconciled the world to himself in Christ, not counting people’s sins against them.

And He has now given us the responsibility to spread the word; it is our duty to promote reconciliation. We choose to be ambassadors of this great love; God is making this appeal through us. I implore you on behalf of Jesus: be reconciled to God and bring reconciliation to others, so their lives and families will be preserved. 

2 Corinthians 5:11-21, UCV (Unauthorized Casey Version)

Reconciliation is a lifelong ministry of bringing others to know a great love. What better example of God’s love and reconciliation than the love of a parent who will do whatever it takes for a child?

The initial intent of the foster care system should never be to remove children from their original parents.

Sometimes, as in our situation, the abuse is so great there is no other choice, but in many cases, the biological family simply is missing something necessary to survival. Helping a family achieve reconciliation and forgiveness is an amazing opportunity.

Before I truly understood foster care, I was one of the would-be adopters who refused to consider foster care because “it would kill me if the child were removed” from my home after I’d formed an attachment. I’ve heard this sentiment from a number of other people.

We need to reconsider our understanding of foster care. It is not a means to adopt (although this may happen). It is a ministry of reconciliation.

God gave us the original blueprint, doing everything possible to create a connection. We need to approach foster care in a similar manner, being willing to do everything we can to enable families to remain together.

Your thoughts?

About Casey

Adoption = my life. I'm determined to give my kids the chance they deserve. Adoption isn't always easy. I promise, you're not alone in this. Join me at Hypervigilant.org - we're in this together.

Posted on July 19, 2018, in Adoption and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I think you have to be truly generous of spirit to be able to take in children who are not yours with the sole intention of helping them reintegrate with their natural families. It requires a deep understanding of their problem and boundless empathy to give care without attachment . Truly living in the moment as per our own Hindu scriptures that advocate action without expectation of any reward or gratification or gratitude.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree; people who have that heart are truly amazing.

      So…this might sound dumb but I never thought about there being a Hindu Book (even as I write this, I feel completely ignorant). What is your favorite part? I hope you don’t mind the question; I like to learn about what friends believe and hold as important. (I have friends in almost every other religion and I just realized–you’re my first Hindu friend. I guess that’s why it never crossed my mind until now.) Hugs!

      Like

      • Well actually we don’t just have the ONE book that is the definitive recording of our religious beliefs but what I’m referring to is the essential philosophy of life as explained in the BhagvatGita, a part of the mythology of the Mahabharata – an epic battle of sibling rivalry that resonates globally. I will send you at length relevant links . Glad to be your first Hindu friend . I myself have studied in an Anglican school and am very conversant with Christian beliefs and theology as we had Scripture and Bible Studies as compulsory learning

        Liked by 1 person

        • I look forward to reading!! I’d be interested to hear your thoughts about the compulsory Bible learning; do you feel it gave you an interest in learning more as you gained knowledge, or was the fact that it was forced a turn-off?

          Like

Add your opinion here!